The key date is May 15.
WhatsApp set this Saturday as the deadline it is giving its millions of users to agree to new terms and conditions of use that caused a wave of criticism of the platform earlier this year.
With its new terms, the platform is asking its users (except those residing in the European region) to agree to share data with Facebook, the messaging service’s parent firm.
Starting this Friday, those who do not agree to the new update will begin to have limited service.
“No user’s account will be deleted or access to WhatsApp features removed on May 15 due to this update”, the platform says on its website.
How will all of this be applied? First no access to the chat list, then goodbye to calls and messages.
That they will not cancel the account is true, that you can continue to use WhatsApp as if nothing is no longer entirely true. In a support article on the WhatsApp website discovered by Bleeping Computer, they detail what will actually happen.
Phase 1: The user will not be able to access the chat list, but will still be able to answer calls or access chats from notifications when new messages arrive.
Phase 2: The user stops receiving calls or notifications, they will also stop allowing sending messages or making calls.
WhatsApp’s new policy: what changes in its new privacy terms and who it affects.